Singapore Hop-On-Hop-Off Bus Tour

In both Koh Samui and Singapore, we went on a city tour within the first few days, and it’s safe to say that I loved both of them. In Singapore we were able to get off the bus at any stop to look around and there were hourly buses that we could get back on once we were ready. As well as stopping to look at landmarks, we saw lots of the city (which was beautiful). We got off the bus twice to look at the Gardens by the Bay and Chinatown, both of which I was pleasantly surprised by. 

Our first stop was Gardens by the Bay which I really wasn’t that excited for, but my parents wanted to see it and I didn’t want to just wait outside so I went along with them. When I got inside my first thought was ‘aah it’s nice and cool in here’, because it was so hot outside. My second thought was ‘wow it’s actually REALLY pretty in here!’. There were different cultured gardens everywhere we walked. I’m not really interested in plants so I couldn’t tell you the names of any of them, but they were all really pretty.

There were also sculptures everywhere, some made out of metal, some of wood and all really cool. This one below was made out of copper. When I first looked at it I thought it was really creative, but I didn’t know what the story was. The caption said that it represented a family coming to a new country with their suitcases and leaving a piece of themselves in that country. There were also wood sculptures like this one of a dragon, the amount of detail is incredible!

The next stop was Chinatown, which was my favourite part. That was where I found the most bargains shopping-wise, so I bought lots. There were pretty anklets for 50c, bags for $2 and key chains for $3, I bought all of it. We had lunch there at a cute little restaurant, I had fried rice (I had really come to love it from being in Asia) which had shrimp in it, so there’s another new thing I tried. Another bonus was the free WiFi at the restaurant!

After lunch we jumped back on the bus and headed home, ready for a swim and then the Singapore Flyer that night!

 

 

Leave a Reply

